Verify variable replacement for Windows Service?

I’m trying to verify that JSON variable replacement in my appsettings.json file was done correctly, as I am new to both Octopus Deploy and .NET Core development.

I see in the Task Log that Octopus failed to start my application as a Windows Service.

21:54:40 Info | Starting the HydratorService service
21:54:40 Info | Attempt 1 of 3 failed: Service ‘HydratorService (HydratorService)’ cannot be started due to the following error: Cannot start service HydratorService on computer ‘.’.
21:54:40 Info | Waiting for 1 seconds before retrying…
21:54:42 Info | Retrying…
21:54:42 Info | Attempt 2 of 3 failed: Service ‘HydratorService (HydratorService)’ cannot be started due to the following error: Cannot start service HydratorService on computer ‘.’.
21:54:42 Info | Waiting for 1 seconds before retrying…
21:54:43 Info | Retrying…
21:54:43 Error | Start-Service : Service ‘HydratorService (HydratorService)’ cannot be started due to the following error: Cannot start
21:54:43 Error | service HydratorService on computer ‘.’.
21:54:43 Error | At D:\APPS\DEV\DevPortalCache\2021.5.25.175222\Octopus.Features.WindowsService_BeforePostDeploy.ps1:200 char:3
21:54:43 Error | + Start-Service $psServiceName
21:54:43 Error | + ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
21:54:43 Error | + CategoryInfo : OpenError: (System.ServiceProcess.ServiceController:ServiceController) [Start-Service],
21:54:43 Error | ServiceCommandException
21:54:43 Error | + FullyQualifiedErrorId : CouldNotStartService,Microsoft.PowerShell.Commands.StartServiceCommand
21:54:43 Verbose | Deleting ‘D:\APPS\DEV\DevPortalCache\2021.5.25.175222\Octopus.Features.WindowsService_BeforePostDeploy.ps1’

In my Worker Service code I have Serilog LogError calls for failure to start the service.