Subscription email to Active Directory groups

I have a subscription that is triggered on a deploy success or fail.

It goes to a team named “Email Team” every minute.

Email Team has Project Viewer permissions for any project, and any environment. It contains me and two Active Directory groups.

When I do a deploy, I get the email, but the Active Directory groups do not.

If I remove myself from the Team, per the Diagnostics/Subscription logs, no email is sent at all.

Any suggestions?

Thanks,
Erik

FWIW I was able to get past this by creating an Octopus user for each group and using the group email alias as the user email address. Then I removed the AD groups from the team and added the two new group users.

In a way this is preferable because I didn’t want to give any Octopus access to the AD group, I just need them to receive emails and not use the Octopus site at all. That’s why I would like to change the subscription email to not include any links.

Hi Erik,
I’m glad to see that you managed to find a way to get the behaviour you are after. At the moment the Teams concept in Octopus Deploy functionally maps to what would be considered Security Groups in Active Directory. When a user logs in to Octopus, we synchronise their security group membership with their teams in Octopus.
As for Distribution Groups, these do not really have a corallary in Octopus in the sense of being stand-alone entities with an email address indipendant of a user.
As you have seen the current way to send an email to a DG through Octopus, involves creating a user that has the relevant email address set.