Octopus Tentacle: The remote certificate is invalid according to the validation procedure

Dear Community/Support,

I have a problem regarding running powershell scripts with web requests. I hope you can point me in the right direction. If there is a similar thread with a solution please forgive me for not finding that one. I’m still new to CD and may not have used the appropriate buzzwords :wink:

We use Octopus On-Premise in a Windows server environment.
I have written a script which checks the availability of a deployed Angular frontend application hosted on IIS with certificates in place. Basically after deployment I check for a status code 200 and check a specific json file for its entries, namely version and build number/date. I wanted to run the script from the octopus server, to check implicitly a working network connection (had some problems with that in the past).

When running the script manually on the octopus servers server (login as my or the service user) the script works as expected, running as LocalAdmin as well as the Service User of the Octopus Server. When running the script from Octopus itself (or any tentacle) the script fails with:

Polling IIS for ****-frontend at https://apps-dev.****/****/assets/release.json
Instance found...
Checking deployed version against https://apps-dev.****/****/assets/release.json
System.Net.WebException: The underlying connection was closed: Could not establish trust relationship for the SSL/TLS secure channel. ---> 
System.Security.Authentication.AuthenticationException: The remote certificate is invalid according to the validation procedure.

I kinda understand the error but not why the certificate is not found. We use a company certification chain which is installed on every Windows Server as well as an appropriate Webserver certificate signed by this chain which private key is available in the “Personal” cert store of the server for the relevant users.