Licencing

Hi

I am new to Octopus.
I am wanting to use it for 3 environments, a total of 7 deployment targets and around 15 projects.

The licence page within octopus says 5 active projects and 10 deployment targets are included with the community licence but when I go to the licence page on your website it is in ‘machines’. I am confused between the two and don’t know if I need a licence or what ‘machines’ translates to in terms of deployment targets, environments and projects.

Appreciate your response

Thanks
Tom

Hi Tom,

Thanks for getting in touch,

I’m sorry to hear that this has caused you some confusion.

In summary, the Octopus community license will activate upon Trial License expiry (which is attained via the Try for Free option in the pricing area of our website, since the Trial license is unlimited in the number of users/projects & machines it can manage, this is normally used for proof of concept scenarios where hundreds of targets may need to be created/deployed to.

The community license, however, allows an unlimited number of Users and Projects (the same as the trial license restraints) whilst specifically retaining a maximum of 5 Deployment Targets.

Further to this machine limit, the machines that count towards that limit include Tentacle, SSH endpoints and Offline Drops (Cloud Regions are not counted towards the machine limit in your license)

If you would like to immediately begin using the Community Edition instead of going through the Trial phase you can select I want to use the free Community Edition via Configuration > License in the Octopus Portal. (This can avoid some headache as if you create more than 5 targets in the Trial License phase, you would need to retrospectively go back and delete targets to reduce this to a maximum of 5 in order to continue deployments when the Community license takes effect, upon Trial License expiry i,e, 45 days)