Jira issue tracker integration - no builder plugin for release notes

Hi,

I’m just beginning to learn Octopus Deploy. I’m currently setting up Jira Integration (connect app and user) in Octopus Deploy. I’m looking to integrate Jira issue tracker and have my new Octopus project releases linked to the Jira issues I’m going to list in Octopus project release notes. I’m currently using the Octopus Deploy API to create the project release and I understand I’m able to add release notes. My question is if its required to create the builder information in order to get the Octopus.Release.WorkItem.

Thanks, I’m looking for an option as I’m using GCP cloud build for my CICD pipeline when creating the Octopus Deploy project releases.

Hi @mario.najar,

Thanks for reaching out and welcome to the Octopus community!

Hope you’re enjoying our product so far, it sounds like you’ve made some great progress but I’d be happy to help get your Jira WorkItems questions!

Originally we bundled ReleaseNotes with a Release but have separated it into it’s own object which is associated with a package. We haven’t removed the legacy method for backwards compatibility and so while it is still possible to bundle ReleaseNotes with a Release we recommend to use the new BuildInformation Step instead.

Our docs go into more detail about exactly how the Jira Issue tracker plugin works and mentions the following implying that it won’t work unless the package contains the commit messages:

To integrate with Jira issues, Octopus needs to understand which issues are associated with a release. Octopus does this by inspecting commit messages associated with any packages contained in the release.

To supply the commit messages:

1. Install one of our official build server plugins with support for our build information step.
  2. Update your build process to add and configure the Octopus Build Information step.