Installing tentacles via script

Hi, I am a total noob here. I have never used powershell and I am not a developer. However, I am tasked with getting octopus automated with AWS. I get most of the octopus stuff to work, but when it comes to scripting the tentacle installation, I am not having success.

I tried running the scripts suggested on the page here, but I don’t know enough to get it to work.
https://octopus.com/docs/installation/installing-tentacles/automating-tentacle-installation

To test, I downloaded the MSI installer to a test server and then ran the script attached with the variables changed. Powershell does not recognize tentacle.exe as a command.

How do I get this to work? I thought I could just copy the scripts on your page, change the variables that are highlighted and run the script. It is not that simple though.
Thanks!

octopus.txt (889 Bytes)

Hey there,
Thanks for getting in touch, I’m sorry to hear you’re having trouble running the script to install and configure your new Tentacle.

One thing which comes to mind is that the tentacle manager MSI needs to already be installed before the script will run successfully. You can confirm by logging in and navigating to the default tentacle.exe directory by running: cd "C:\Program Files\Octopus Deploy\Tentacle". If you don’t see the directory it means that the tentacle was never installed to the default location and you will need to perform that step first.

A possible solution would be to navigate to where you downloaded the MSI installer then run:
msiexec /i Octopus.Tentacle.<version>.msi /quiet

from a command prompt with elevated privileges.

Please replace the values as necessary, for example <version> is a place holder in this case, so if you downloaded Octopus.Tentacle.3.15.2-x64.msi, you would need to replace <version> with 3.15.2-x64