Incompatible runner: OctopusDeploy: Create release

Hello team!
I am trying to have a “create an octopus release” with my linux build server (Debian 9 stretch). I am running into this “incompatible runner” problem. I have checked this issue: Incompatible runner: OctopusDeploy But it was some time ago, so I’m not sure it’s still the same workaround (and now, Octopus release is at v.3).
I am quite new to Linux servers, so I did:
wget https://download.octopusdeploy.com/octopus-teamcity/4.15.9/Octopus.TeamCity.zip
unzip Octopus.Teamcity.zip
/sbin/shutdown -r now

I can see some more folders (as agent, server), files (as teamcity-plugin.xml)… I might be missing a step in the installing, but I am unsure what?
I have .Net Core 2.1 installed. the builds have been working fine.

Thanks for the help!

Hi there

Thanks for getting in touch!

I setup a Debian9 instance and installed the plugin… and it worked as expected, so I suspect there’s something different in how we’ve both set things up.

I think the issue might be with how you’ve installed the plugin - the best way is to upload the zip file via the UI under Administration -> Plugin List -> Upload plugin zip. You can read more here on the teamcity documentation - https://confluence.jetbrains.com/display/TCD18/Installing+Additional+Plugins.

Give that a go, and let me know how you get along.

Cheers,
Matt

Hello again,
Sorry to re-contact you, but I just can’t seem to do it…

We now have this in our Plugin List, it’s been updated :

Octopus Deploy integration
Allows Octopus Deploy deployments to be triggered after a build.

But I still am unable to create a release from TeamCity to Octopus…
Could you tell me what is different with how you do it? Or a step by step? Thanks a lot!

HI there

It seems I misread your initial post - I thought your TeamCity build server was Debian - but it appears to be the build agent instead.

That said, I dont think that should be the problem.