Help on Multi-tenant and Multi-region deployment

Hi Guys,

I’m new to octopus deploy and appreciate if you could provide your suggestions/opinion on following.

We have a web based product and that needs to be deployed among multiple customers (tenants).
For each tenant there will be a unique instance of the product. Furthermore, each tenant can have their instance deployed in, one or more geographical regions (most probably with Azure) depending on their preference.
Also in each region there can be shared/dedicated deployments.

Let me elaborate this with following example.

• Tenants: Tenant 1, Tenant 2, Tenant 3

• Geographical regions: Region 1, Region 2, Region 3

• Deployment preferences:

• Tenant 1 - [Shared] - Region 1 and Region 2
    • Tenant 2 - [Shared] - Region 1 and Region 3
    • Tenant 3 - [Dedicated] - Region 1 and Region 2

After looking at documentation, we considered to go with Environment per Region approach and create a single Project for the product.

Then create a Tenant in Octopus for each customer then link them with the project and environments as necessary.

What do you think about above approach?

We didn’t see any use case to utilize Cloud Regions with above approach. Do you think we should use that

Also with this approach, when we deploy for a given tenant, would it be possible to simultaneously deploy to all the assigned environments for that tenant?

Hi,

Thanks for getting in touch! I’m sorry for the delay in getting back to you. I think we will need to get some more information to better understand your requirements and current scenario.

Are you deploying an Azure web app?
What does your current deployment pipeline look like?

Also, regarding cloud regions, Generally they are used for splitting up your app across geographic boundaries.