Helm File Variable Substitution

I’m new to kubernetes/helm and am looking for a way to inject variable replaced configuration files (and ideally json/xml transformations) into a container.

One solution that seems promising is to use helm files (https://helm.sh/docs/chart_template_guide/accessing_files/) to create a configmap, and then mount the configmap as a volume (https://kubernetes.io/docs/tasks/configure-pod-container/configure-pod-configmap/#populate-a-volume-with-data-stored-in-a-configmap)

I’m currently using the Octopus Helm Upgrade step (https://octopus.com/docs/deployment-examples/kubernetes-deployments/helm-update), but do not see any options for variable substitutions in my helm package. According to: https://octopus.com/docs/deployment-process/configuration-features/substitute-variables-in-files these options should be available in package steps, but I don’t see them in my 2020.2.11 version of Octopus.

Is there a way to do variable substitution/transforms in helm package steps? If not, is there another recommended way to get octopus transformed files into a kubernetes deployment? If not, could this feature be considered?

Workaround ideas:

• In the past I’ve run the “deploy a package” step on a worker filesystem and then deployed the transformed files from the work directory. However, it seems that the “helm upgrade” step requires a package source instead of a filesystem source.

• Since it seems like custom deployment scripts are supported in the “helm upgrade” step, I could attempt to write my own substitution script, but that seems very error prone.