Custom powershell and vstest

Hi. I am fairly new to Octopus, but have come across a problem that i can’t resolve.
I have a problem with custom build step. I want to run vstest.console.exe after a deploy to verify the success of the deploy. My powershell script fails on postback to TFS with this error: Error: Build “Project.Package_9107” cannot be found under team project “Git”.

The command I use is this:
vstest.console.exe" Tests.dll /inisolation /TestCaseFilter:“TestCategory=Dev” /logger:TfsPublisher;Collection=http://myserver:8080/tfs/default;BuildName=Project.Package_9107;TeamProject=Git;flavor=release

This command works if I run it on the server, either directly by powershell or by console, but if I run it from Octopus it fails. I have tried from custom build step and from script console, but yields the same result. I have upgraded to 3.2 but the result is the same.

Hi,

Thanks for reaching out. Both Script Console and Custom build step are scripts executed by the account running the Tentacle service. Do you know if that account has enough permissions to run that command? A very quick way to test this out would be to change the Tentacle service account to run under your own account, and then trying to run the command again. If it runs with your user, then you know its a permission issue.

Let me know how it goes after trying that

Warm regards

Dalmiro

I’ve been through that. Logged on as the same user that runs the tentacle service, and had none problems running the script. The results was published back to the specific build.

Absolutt worth pointing out, the tests runs perfectly. Its only the postback portion of the script that fails.

Thanks
EirikSF

Here is the result fra the custom step:
08:39:55Info Executing script on 'MSTEST’
08:39:59Info Running MsTests tests…
08:40:00Info Tests.dll /TestCaseFilter:“TestCategory=Dev” /logger:TfsPublisher;Collection=http://myserver:8080/tfs/default;BuildName=Project.Package_9107;TeamProject=Git