Configure Az Module when running Azure Script

I am new to Octopus and I have created a runbook with a single step to execute “Azure Script”. From the online documentation Running Azure PowerShell - Octopus Deploy, it recommends the user to configure its own Azure CLI and Azure Az module version by setting to “Use Azure Tools pre-installed on the worker”. However, the documentation is not clear how or where I can set my own version of the CLI or Az module. Do I install the CLI and Az module on the worker? How can this be accomplished? Include the Install-Module cmdlet inside the Azure Script that I want to deploy? Thanks.

Hi @lawrence.t,

Thanks for getting in touch!

There are a few ways this can be done.

The first would be to do as you mention, add the installation and loading of the Az module to your script and let this run every time the script runs. The downside is that the dynamic worker you use will change, so, the script runtime may increase due to having to download the module each time.

Another way would be to make use of Execution Containers. This feature allows you to select a container image that will be run within the worker that can contain and tools that you require. We do have a base image referenced within the docs.

The final way would be to create a static worker within your own environment and install the required tools on that and assign any necessary steps to run on that worker instead of the dynamic workers.

Regards,
Paul

Paul,

Thanks for the prompt reply. For option #1, I have tried to add the following two lines in he beginning of the Azure script.

• Invoke-WebRequest -Uri https://aka.ms/installazurecliwindows -OutFile .\AzureCLI.msi; Start-Process msiexec.exe -Wait -ArgumentList ‘/I AzureCLI.msi /quiet’; rm .\AzureCLI.msi
  • Install-Module -Name Az -Scope CurrentUser -Repository PSGallery -Force

But I am still getting the same error I had before complaining about the az command is not being recognized.