I’ve tripped over a small issue which I hope you’ll be able to help with. When deploying a new version of our application sometimes elements of it don’t change and so are at the same version as the previous deployment. However, looking at the log it would appear that Octopus attempts to uninstall/reinstall when this is not necessary. For example, in the attached log snippet you can see that the Tentacle has detected that the package has been extracted already, but then attempts an uninstall process - surely if the version numbers are the same then the assumption should be that nothing further needs to be done? As things stand, it attempts to overwrite but as you can see gets a permission issue as the app pool has the content locked - recycling the app pool releases the lock and the deployment works as expected.
If this is expected behaviour, is there a way I can trigger an app pool recycle before any of this occurs? Also I’m guessing the same or a similar issue could occur for windows services?
log.txt (3 KB)