Unable to apply configuration transformation on a custom location

Hi Team,
I am new to Octopus and was trying to use Configuration Transforms in conjunction with substitute variables.
I have 2 files in the package exe.release.config, exe.config, which gets extracted in Octopus.Action[Extract].Output.Package.InstallationDirectoryPath path.Substitute variable worked without any issue and updated the exe.release.config with the right values from Octopus variables. When I try to use Configuration Transforms it does not update the files inside the package or in any custom location. One thing I noticed is it is working inside the work folder which soon gets deleted but fails to work on the InstallationDirectoryPath or any path given by me. All the variables are getting resolved properly and this is what I am trying to do under Additional Transforms(variables replaced with values):
C:\Octopus\Applications\Test\UAT\package\1.0.12_2\package.1.0.12\Config\exe.release.config =>
C:\Octopus\Applications\Test\UAT\package\1.0.12_2\package.1.0.12\Config\exe.config,
C:\Octopus\Applications\Test\UAT\package\1.0.12_2\package.1.0.12\Config\exe.release.config =>
C:\Program Files\TestApp\exe.config
Is Configuration Transformation restricted to only the package contents and that too in work folder? If there is no other way which variables I can use to copy the contents of Work folder after configuration transformation has been applied inside it?
Thanks
Saurabh

Hi Saurabh,

Thanks for getting in touch, and welcome to Octopus! I hope you’ve found it useful so far. :slight_smile:

I think the issue here is due specifically to the absolute path set to the exe.config file (as defined in your Additional Transforms section). Absolute paths to config files are not supported (which also means they have to be in the package being deployed), whereas they are supported for transform files (i.e. exe.release.config).