Triggering to release the latest version without a source environment

I am very new to octopus so forgive me for this very basic question. I use Team City to create a new release within Octopus Deploy. But it does not auto deploy to any environments at the time the release is created. I may create several “releases” throughout the day.

Then every night, I want the latest release to be deployed to a given environment. I set up a trigger as in this screenshot.

I do not know what source environment to use. This release has not been deployed to any other environments. It will not let me leave the source environment blank. For now I just put in the same source environment as destination environment.

The trigger does not do anything. No release is deployed even though this environment shows new releases available.

I am obviously missing some important octopus concept. Could you point me in the right direction?

Hi @bsmeyers,

Thanks for getting in touch, and great question! Some unfortunate news here is that the scheduled triggers feature only currently supports a redeploy/promotion of the latest successful release, so if the release in question hasn’t yet been successfully deployed, the scheduled trigger won’t pick it up to deploy to the first environment in your lifecycle. This has been suggested in the past as an enhancement that you can refer to at the following GitHub link.

In the original suggestion thread we mention our recommended workaround be to “setup a scheduled build in TeamCity that deploys the latest release for the project at your preferred time.”

Sorry it’s not the news you were after, but please let us know if you have any further questions or concerns. :slight_smile:

Best regards,

Kenny

Thank you. I appreciate you quick response. It does answer my question. I will have to rethink my approach.

Hi,