Some info questions

hello!
i got the job to try octopus out and see if it can fit into our organization.
so i have some questions that i could not answer myself.
Is octopus limited to deploy only ASP.NET,Web applications and Windows Services?
can it not be used to deploy just any kind of other NUGET or ZIP packages?
what if my deployment process requires only to install a app with an installer?

Thank you in advance for any answer.

Hi Lio,

No, Octopus is not limited to only ASP.NET apps and Windows Services.

You can deploy pretty much any kind of app, if you can script it, Octopus can (in almost all cases) deploy it.

For example:

• This docs page shows how to deploy a Node app to an Ubuntu server.
  • This blog post explains how to deploy an MSI using Octopus.

I hope that helps!

Thank you and best regards,
Henrik

Hi Henrik,

Thank you for your reply.
This information will definitely help me.
i am a first year student,and it would take me a lot of time to find it all out by myself.
still have a lot to learn. my next step is better understand scripting.
because we do develop in c# and use nuget but we deploy normally just exe,msi.
then I’ll see what other questions i will have left.

so if i understand correctly i can say, octopus was developed in first place for ASP WS and DB and over time “expanded” his ability to all kinds of apps with scripting,
and now we can look at it as a general deployment server for all kind of application, and is also not limited to the .NET world?!

Hi Lio,

Yes, that is correct.

Henrik

Hi Henrik,

I have another question
I writing my intern report now about Octopus, and wanted to ask
if Its OK to include pictures from the octopus website in my report?
like this one

or could it be a legal problem?

Lio

Hi Lio,

As long as you attribute the pictures as coming from our website you’ll be fine.

Thanks,
Henrik

another question i have on my mind…
why is it Octopus dose requires a Microsoft Server?