Secure way to provide credentials for services, scheduled tasks, and application pools?

I’m new to both Octopus Deploy and Powershell scripts, but have managed to setup Octopus to deploy my services and tasks and start them using the local system account. However, I need to be able to set these up to run under domain accounts. I think I see how to do it with the powershell scripts but is there a secure way to get the credentials to the script? I don’t want to have all my service account passwords visible as clear text variables in Octopus deploy. Does Octopus deploy provide a user prompt to supply the credentials at the time of install? What are the best practices to achieve a secure deployment when a specific username and password are needed? Thanks!

Hi James,

You can use variables in the Octopus UI to store the credentials, and use the Octopus permissions system to lock down the variables so that only a select few people can see them. However the credentials will still be stored as plain text in the Octopus database, so it’s not the most secure option.

Another option would be to have the Tentacle service run under the context of a Windows user (a local admin), and to then find a way to give that Windows user access to some kind of external credential store via Windows authentication. A simple way would be to put the crendentials into a file on a file share, and then lock it down so that only the Tentacle windows user can read that file. Since the Tentacle agent will run the PowerShell scripts under the context of the user that the service is running under, you can use that.

Octopus doesn’t provide any way to prompt users for passwords during a deployment.

We do have a feature planned to allow some variable to be marked as ‘secret’ - these would be stored in the Octopus database as encrypted values, and only be visible to specific users.

Hope that helps,

Paul