Releases getting wrong version of packages

Hi!

I’ve been testing Octopus Deploy for a couple months, and I’m really enthusiastic with it. I’m integrating it with Team City and it’s running well. But there is a small problem that I cannot figure out what is happening. I hope I can get some help here.

First, our scenario:

In Team City, we have 2 build configurations. The first one builds our projects and generate artifacts in our teamcity nuget feed. The second one is triggered when the first succeeds, and it creates a version in Octopus.

So, when a version is created, with our life cycle, Octopus automatically deploy it to an Acceptance environment. (We still work with just 2 environments: Acceptance and Production).

The problem:

When a version is created, sometimes the packages are correct, from the exactly team city build. (Octopus release number is the same number as Team City build number, so it’s easy to keep track and compare the build number, packages versions and octopus release). But, most of the times, the version of 1 or 2 packages are 1 behind, while other are correct. For example, we have a 4.38.61 release that points to 3 packages:
Package 1: 4.38.60
Package 2: 4.38.60
Package 3: 4.38.61

And also, once, something really strange happened when we had two near builds started in Team City. The package version was higher than the Octopus release. For example, we have a 4.38.61 release that points to 3 packages:
Package 1: 4.38.62
Package 2: 4.38.61
Package 3: 4.38.61

The question:
Am I doing anything wrong? I’ve searched through the web and forums and what I found that might cause this is having the release created in the same build configuration, and not having it triggered, so the packages were not ready yet. That’s not our case. Also, can I force when creating a release, getting that specific package, and not trusting it getting the latest automatically?

Thanks in advance!
Eric

Hi Eric,

Thanks for getting in touch.