Recommendation for SCM+Build tools

I really want to get started using Octopus to help with our deployments. We currently have our source control checked into TFS, but don’t use any other TFS functionality. Not even task/bug tracking. I have a lot of experience working with SVN and Jira from previous jobs, and I really like the simplicity (compared to the sometimes obtuse way that TFS seems to work). Our engineering team is 2 people with 3 more outside contractors working mostly independently. Our company’s application is 100% .NET C# and boils down to 3-4 libraries, 2 main web applications, a “service API” application, and 2 secondary applications that are rarely updated. Currently, deployments are done by manually copy/pasting bin/DLLs, and sometimes aspx files, onto the servers…and we’re starting to have a few problems with bungled deployments. The applications are rapidly growing and we need to address deployments soon. We’re moving to a new server environment with load balancers and tertiary servers for extra services, and this is the opportunity to put new tooling in place. We have no unit tests for the existing code, so we’ll be using a stage/test environment to approve changes before deployment. And we currently subscribe to do specific development/project planning methodology.

My question is this: Given that we’re dedicated to Visual Studio v.Current and Windows, and that we want to use Octopus to manage our deployments, what’s the easiest way to get CI going, give us better bug/task management, easy administration, automated builds, and (eventually) simple unit testing. Everything that I’ve seen about TFS says that none of that is simple or easy to set up.

So I turn to you, the only community in the .NET space that seems to have CI and automated deployments done right. What’s your recommendation?

Oh, and it goes without saying that we’ll be sending the Octopus team a pile of money as soon as we can get this stuff working.