Proper way to replace a certificate that is about to expire on a server

I am fairly new to Octopus Deploy and am trying to come up with an optimized deployment process to replace an expiring certificate on a server running IIS. I am on Octopus 3.14.159. I have the current and new certificate loaded into the Octopus Deploy certificates library. The process I came up with so far is:

1. Install new certificate (Import Certificate).
  2. Bind IIS website to new certificate (Run a Script)
  3. Test IIS website (Run a Script)
  4. Remove old certificate (Run a Script)

Step #4 is particularly problematic because I am specifying the old certificate by its thumbprint in an Octopus Deploy variable. Each time the certificate expires I need to update the Octopus Deploy variable with the thumbprint of the expiring certificate. It would be nice if I could reference the expiring certificate in the Octopus Deploy certificates library to retrieve the thumbprint for the removal of the certificate from the server. Is that possible? Maybe I am making this all too complicated and there is an easier way. Is there an easier process?

Hi Ron,

Thanks for getting in touch! I think you may be able to benefit from our subscription feature. This feature lets you subscribe to events that happen on the Octopus server, then either send an email, or subscribe to a webhook. This could be used with the API to do what you are after with some custom scripting.

If you would like to see some documentation on our subscription feature, you can see the following page: https://octopus.com/docs/administration/subscriptions

You are able to subscribe to the following events:

Certificate expired
Certificate expiry 10-day warning
Certificate expiry 20-day warning
Certificate private-key exported
Certificate replaced

Other than that, I’m not too sure if there are any direct options in Octopus to handle this.