Possible bug when enabling and disabling step features

I am using Octopus v2020.3.2 and I have noticed an either a bug or a counterintuitive behavior when configuring steps. If you enable a feature, for example “Configuration variables” and then configure it to be used - enable “Replace entries in .config files”. Then remove that feature without resetting its configurations, create a new release, deploy it and from deployment logs you will notice that it still ran that feature against the build even if you can’t see it within your step. Is this intentional?

Thanks,
Tadas

Hi @tadas.poc,

Thanks for getting in touch!

This isn’t intentional; when a feature is removed, any related settings should be cleared.
I’ve tested this in our latest version (2020.4.3), and it does seem to be removing the feature as expected.

Steps I took:

  • Add .NET Configuration Variables feature
  • Create and deploy a release
  • Confirm line in logs looking for settings in .config files is present
  • Remove .NET Configuration Variables feature
  • Create and deploy a release
  • Confirm line in logs looking for settings in .config files is not present

Deployment with feature:

Deployment without feature:

Regards,
Paul

1 Like