Offline drop install, where to find log of install

Hi !

This is first time that I try offline drop (but I have a few years experience with Octopus), I use folder drop.
Moved drop folder to another machine and executed it, cmd windows shows progress and then closes.
Where can I find execution log to see was there any errors ?
If there is log can it be uploded to Octopus server and be seen in that task which producds offline drop ?

I found only “DeploymentJournal.xml” in workingDir, but inside is only a list of deployed packages.

Thx, Domagoj

Hi Domagoj,

This as something that I was unaware of also. I have spent a bit of time playing with Offline package Drop deployments now and from what I have gathered, there is no output logs. I have checked with some of the other people on the support team who’s recollection regarding OPD is similar.

I will preface this next bit by saying that the following workaround has not been tested more than a handful of times, so please test the workaround on your non-production environment before committing to anything.

What I tried, which seemed to work well on my small example, is adding a redirect for the output to the end of the argument inside of the CMD file that calls the powershell script.

*> logfile.txt

For example…

This will redirect all output to the specified logfile which should provide some clarity on the deployment process. I used a broken powershell command in one of my scripts, and thanks to the workaround I just mentioned, I had these lines in my logfile:

##octopus[stdout-default]
##octopus[stdout-verbose]
Invoking target script C:\Applications\OPDTEST\Development\OctopusTools\9.0.0_3\Octopus.Action.CustomScripts.Deploy.ps1 with  parameters.
##octopus[stdout-default]
##octopus[stdout-verbose]
Calamari.Common.Commands.CommandException: Deploy script returned non-zero exit code: 1