How to upload file to an FTP Server from Azure?

Hello Everyone,

I am very new to Octopus Deploy so forgive me for my ignorance. I have an FTP server where I need to upload my Angular Website. The source repo is configured in Azure so at first, I tried deployment using Azure pipelines. My hosting provider is a cheap provider so they are not giving me a lot of options to configure hosting. They have told me that I can upload files using any FTP client that supports passive mode. I want to automate this deployment process, so I would like to use Octopus Deploy to upload files to FTP server. I have just signed up for free tier and created a Cloud instance. The issue I am facing now is that I cannot create a target since I only have the FTP information of the host. Another problem I am facing is that I am not sure which process step to use for my task? Can somone please guide me on how can I deploy my website to a remote FTP server from Azure?

Thanks in advance.

Hi syed_afraz_ali,

Thanks a lot for reaching out. I’m here to work with you until you’re up and running and to answer any you questions you have.

We have a Step Template that you will be able to utilize in your project, which is fairly straightforward and allows you to upload information to your hosts FTP Server.

I don’t have all your hosts details, so I can’t test it out myself, but that step will be the best place to start. After you create a project and when you are adding a step - just type in “ftp” in the search box and you should see the Step Template I am talking about.

The great news is, because you are using Octopus Cloud, you will be able to set the Execution location to “Run once on a Worker”. If you choose the “Default Worker pool”, you won’t need to create a target as one will be dynamically allocated to run the script. You can just fill in the FTP details within the script step itself and deploy.

upload ftp