How can I use HAProxy to connect to tentacles that aren't publicly accessible?

I have a number of virtual machines running Listening Tentacles that I want to connect to. They are on a private network accessible only through the VM host.

I also have HAProxy installed on the VM host. Can connect to the Tentacles through HAProxy?

Configuring HAProxy

Note: I am not an HAProxy expert. This solution is an example and may require more configuration before it is ready for a production environment.

Starting configuration:

• HAProxy is running on hostname octavius.lan
  • DNS entries are set up for each tentacle that point to the same IP as octavius.lan
    • These are the octofx-*.lan domain names used in the config below
    • These entries are on the network that hosts the Octopus server. This is what allows the Octopus server to map the octofx-*.lan domain name to the HAProxy server.
  • The tentacles have local hostnames that they are referenced by on the HAProxy side.
    • These are the names like octofx-web-development used in the backends.
    • These can also be the internal IP addresses.

Add a frontend similar to this to your haproxy.cfg:

frontend tentacle
        bind *:10933
        mode tcp
        option tcplog

tcp-request inspect-delay 5s
        tcp-request content accept if { req_ssl_hello_type 1 }

acl octofx_worker req.ssl_sni -i octofx-worker.lan
        acl octofx_development_web req.ssl_sni -i octofx-development-web.lan
        acl octofx_test_web req.ssl_sni -i octofx-test-web.lan
        acl octofx_production_web1 req.ssl_sni -i octofx-production-web1.lan
        acl octofx_production_web2 req.ssl_sni -i octofx-production-web2.lan
        acl octofx_production_service req.ssl_sni -i octofx-production-service.lan

use_backend octofx_worker_tentacle if octofx_worker
        use_backend octofx_development_web_lan if octofx_development_web
        use_backend octofx_test_web_lan if octofx_test_web