Force re-deployment of existing packages checkbox

Seems that it’s impossible to deploy some changes in my project if the nuget package version remains the same, even if the Force re-deployment of existing packages checkbox is checked.
Does this functionality work correctly, or should i always change the version?

Hi Stefano,

That’s correct, the version number should always be bumped, because Octopus caches the downloaded packages (since you will likely use the same package to upload to each environment).

However, I’ll modify Octopus so that when force is enabled, I’ll clear the package cache before downloading. However this should only really be used when there has been a problem downloading/installing the package in the past, not because the package has changed - the best practice would still be to update the version number.

Hope that helps,

Paul

Hi paul,
thanks for the reply, I suspected some kind of cacheing and now I have the confirmation.

I promise I’ll use that functionality ony for the purposes you suggested.

Ste

Hi Stefano,

This is now being solved as part of this item:

https://trello.com/card/support-multiple-simultaneous-package-uploads-for-the-same-package-to-the-same-machine/4e907de70880ba000079b75c/143

I’ll be using file hashes to decide whether to use a cached package or not.

Paul

Hi Stefano,

This fix is now included in build 1.0.17.1287

Paul