Deployment was successful, even though pod couldn't be updated

Hi everyone!

I tested a deployment to our k8s cluster. After the initial pod creation went well, I did an update to the pod configuration (changed the image source), created a new release and did another deploy. Unfortunately, I now had a typo in my YAML file for the new image location, so the image couldn’t be pulled, with the pod update hanging on this step (the usual switching between ErrImagePull and ImagePullBackOff).

However, on the Octopus side of things I got the message that my deployment was successful.

I am new to all things Octopus, but I didn’t expect this behaviour (since the pod couldn’t be updated I would expect some sort of fail), so I wonder if I did something wrong or did some wrong thinking? I did this using the “raw Kubernetes YAML” step.

Thanks in advance,
Anita

Hi Anita,

Welcome to the Octopus help site.

That does sound a little odd. I would expect if an error is returned in your “raw Kubernetes YAML” step, then the deployment would stop.

I have directly messaged you a link on your user. Could you please upload your deployment task raw log to this link to investigate this further for you?

Hopefully, we can get to the bottom of this quickly for you.

Kind Regards,
Sean

Hi Sean,

thanks for your quick reply.

I just tried it again (added the same typo, a dot at the end of the image tag) with the same outcome. I uploaded the logfile as requested.

Thanks again and kind regards,
Anita

Hi Anita,

Thank you very much for that.

I will look through this and get back to you as quickly as possible!

Kind Regards,
Sean

1 Like

Hi Anita,

After looking at your logs and thinking about your issue, could you please upload your YAML file to that same link I sent you?

We were hoping to test it on our side to recreate your issue and potentially test a fix.