If I’m using the “Custom Installation Directory” feature, do any files that are no longer required in a new package version automatically get removed from the custom application location? The documentation says it blindly copies so I’m guessing not. This is a concern for us as leaving old dll’s in the bin directory from previous versions can cause problems with the mef tools we use.
Thanks for reaching out. It doesn’t remove any extra file. If you want to remove files, our recommendation is to purge the entire directory first, and then blindly copy the contents of your package. (see attached screenshot).
FYI we have an enhancement that has already been merged (yet not released) to allow exclusion rules for the directory purging in case you want to keep some files that are not gonna be in the package. Github issue for you to follow: https://github.com/OctopusDeploy/Issues/issues/2943