Channels - Retention Policy is across all channels not per channel

We are currently using channels to maintain a V1 + V2 of an API. We have a lifecycle for the project that currently is configured to keep the last 2 releases on the tentacle, across all environments.

We have found that when deploying our latest V2 release, that the retention policy is deleting the V1 version where the number of deploys of V2 exceeds the files on tentacle limit.

Is this expected in the behaviour? We are actively maintaining two versions, and it seems in this instance without increasing the retention policy we could find our releases have been deleted.

Lastly, the deleted release was configured as an application in IIS, so maybe as a last ditch attempt we would verify if the folder is no longer used in IIS or open with any processes?

Hi Michael,

Thanks for getting in touch! In Octopus version 3.12.2, we released the ability to control how retention works per channel. The below links include information and screenshots about the issue and how we resolved it.


Setting your Discrete Channel Releases to Channel releases are treated independently from other channels on both the project dashboard and for retention policies will separate the retention policy for your Channels. :slight_smile:

Let me know if this helps or if you have any further questions.

Best regards,
Daniel

Hi Daniel,

That has sorted it :slight_smile:

Cheers,
Michael

Hi Michael,

Great! Feel free to get in touch if you have any further questions.

Best regards,
Daniel