Can I use Octopus to write files to AWS Windows FSX share?

I am evaluating options of how to copy files to AWS Windows FSX share from on prem Octopus server. Is this possible and are there any examples/documentation around same? Most of the online documents suggest using netshare but I can’t use that from octopus because I am not sure where it would mount that drive to on octopus worker nodes. and is it good practice.

Hi @harsh_tech,

Thank you for reaching out to us with your question about copying files from your on-prem Octopus Server to AWS FSx.

I would be keen to understand further what files you are copying from your Octopus Server and why. For example, are they Octopus Log files? Are they packages? Are they files that sit outside of Octopus?

This will help to provide a bigger picture of what it is you are looking to achieve so I can help to offer some advice.

While I am no expert in AWS there may be a few things for you to explore here (depending on what you need to transfer).

Option 1:

You may want to explore the Built-in step to run the AWS CLI AWS CLI and PowerShell scripts - Octopus Deploy or even look at creating your own Custom Step Template to achieve this if the built-in step is insufficient for your needs.

For a custom step, you could use the Run a Script template to create a step that leverages using the AWS CLI to copy files from on-prem to FSx. You could run this from a Worker where the AWS CLI is installed and has access to AWS services and network permissions so the Worker can access the shared folder where the files reside.

Option 2:

Outside of Octopus, you may find using AWS DatSync can achieve what you might be after but keep in mind any costs associated with Amazon for their services.

Option 3:

If these are Octopus specific files for HA cluster i.e. Task logs, Artifacts, Nuget Repository then we do have a guide to Configuring Octopus Server High Availability using AWS FSx