Best way to create new releases from "Master project"

I have a “Master project” with Deploy Release steps. So my setup is as follows:

Projects

1. Master
  2. Project A
  3. Project B
  4. Project C

I have a Lifecycle DTAP with auto triggers on D and T, so the moment I create a release for Project A, it will auto deploy to DEV, and TEST.

I do not have a setup for Automatic Release Creation, because I push too much packages and I want to have more control.

However, I want to deploy A, B and C at once (or at least sequentially), without too much clicking.

What is the best way to do this?

Currently I have a powershell script in Master that tries to create releases but that one is not working. Maybe I should use the REST Api?

But I would like to have a general advice. Is this the correct way to do this?

My Master project has the following steps:

1. Create releases (for project A, B, C)
  2. Deploy release project A
  3. Deploy release project B
  4. Deploy release project C

As you probably see, I also have challenge with the auto triggers right?

PS: I use a variant of this snippet

One problem is that version stays empty. Probably because I use package versioning?

Hi Gerjan,

Thanks for getting in touch! The problem you’re likely hitting is due to the fact that when creating a release of a master project, the releases of the “child projects” (Projects A, B and C) have to already exist. You select the releases of these projects when creating a release of the master project (like how you select existing package versions for package steps) which are then included in that release snapshot.

Perhaps the best current option here if you’re wanting all this done in a single deployment process would be to use the Chain Deployment step template written by the community. This step has a parameter to create a new release of the project you’re targeting in the step.