Best practices for file handling in PowerShell script steps

I’m new to Octopus and I’m using version 3.2.22

As part of a deploy process, I need to execute some SQL on some target machines.

The first step uses PowerShell to create an SQL file in a specific location on the target like “d:\temp”

The second step uses PowerShell to execute that SQL against the database on the server and captures the output and writes it to a second SQL file (also in d:\temp). The same step then executes the second SQL file against the database on the server.

I’m not crazy about hard-coding a specific directory into the script as not all target machines may have the same drive letters in the future.

Is there some default Octopus “temp” folder that I can reference within my PowerShell scripts so that I don’t need to hard code a drive letter and path?

Also, is there any best practices on how to handle cleanup of files that your scripts create other than explicitly adding a step to delete the files at the end? i.e. Is there a “scratch” folder that gets deleted automatically once the Octopus deploy process finishes.

Hi Krick,

Thanks for getting in touch,

Based on the information provided in your query, it sounds like you would benefit from using Octopus System Variables in place of a static path within the query as you could use;

$OctopusParameters["Octopus.Action[INSERT STEP NAME].Package.InstallationDirectoryPath"]

That resolves to the installation directory of the associated package step, this would prevent issues with machines that may not have the same drive letter and path as you highlighted.

In regards to best practices when handlig cleanup of files, there is a System Variable for;

OctopusDeleteScriptsOnCleanup

This is a variable that is defined in your project that modifies the way Octopus behaves, the associated documentation has some further information on this, which I’d recommend having a read-through.

I hope this helps!