Azure Resource Group Template with Artefacts

Hi

I’m new to Octopus Deploy and I’m trying to set an Azure Resource Group Deployment.

I’ve read this page thoroughly, but i think it is missing some common steps.

To provide some context, I’m using Team City to build and publish a package to Octopus Deploy. The package is a zip of the deployment project’s staged artefacts.

Eg.
a master template
a nested template
a parameters file
Deploy-AzureResourceGroup.ps1 (customised)
an extra PS script referenced by the above
2 zip files (msdeploy packages) produced by other referenced projects

From what I can tell the “Deploy an Azure Resource Group” step will only work for single template deployment projects.

I’m starting to believe that what I need to do is unpack the zip, then stage it myself, and finally run the “Deploy an Azure Resource Group” step. If that is the case, how do i unzip a package?

If there is a better way of doing this, please let me know.

Thanks

Hi Owen,

Thanks for getting in touch! You’re right, the Deploy an Azure Resource Group step is one-named-template-file per step. Calamari uses the ResourceManager C# SDK, passing the template, parameters etc: https://github.com/OctopusDeploy/Calamari/blob/master/source/Calamari.Azure/Deployment/Conventions/DeployAzureResourceGroupConvention.cs#L96

Based on what I understand from your description, you have a few options to move forwards: